Firm Steps

 

Nothing will humble you quicker, and more often, than being a parent.

As our son grows up, every few weeks I catch myself feeling confident. I start thinking, “I think we’ve finally got this figured out.” “We’re good! This is totally easy.” But, those are usually the times when something new is around the corner.

Once we got the sleeping/eating schedules down, he started teething. Once he got his first teeth he was sitting up, eating solids, crawling, pulling himself up, quickly followed by walking, then running. Last week I started thinking those overly-confident thoughts again, and right on time, the next day, he figured out how to climb on top of the coffee table.

That is when my thinking changed to, “oh boy, now what am I going to do?”

Over, and over again I have been quickly humbled into remembering that I have no idea what I am doing. If we’re honest, I’m not really sure that any of us do. We can read, educate, and prepare as much as possible – all of which are good things, and encouraged, but we can’t ever really be fully prepared for what is next.

We don’t know what challenges will be around the corner. But, we can trust that with each of those challenges, God is right there with us. Sometimes it’s hard to remember that God is a parent too. Just as we watch and guide our babies as they learn to crawl, walk, and run, and we pick them up when they fall, God is doing the same for us.

We may not ever have this parent thing figured out, but that’s okay. We have the guidance of the ultimate example of a parent, to show us how it’s done.

“The Lord makes firm the steps of the one who delights in him; though he may stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with his hand.” – Psalm 37:24

 

Leave a Reply

