4 Strong Verses for Battling DOUBT

One of my biggest struggles (and I am probably not alone in this) is doubt. My lowest point of being in doubt was wrapped in this intense fear every morning that nothing would change. My situation wasn’t going to get any better. The thoughts would never go away. The battle would never end, or if it did I wouldn’t be the winner. The fear drives the thoughts and the thoughts drive the doubt and it continues on and on until you’re so stuck in that spiral you cannot see the way out.

It is still a problem for me, I still find myself in that hole on a regular basis. But the difference between today and several months ago is that I can see exactly how I got there. So what I am learning now is how to get out. Here are a few verses that have stuck with me and that God gently reminds me of when I feel trapped in that hole again (Emphases mine):

Lamentations 3:22-23 NIV “Because of the Lord’s great love we are NOT consumed, for his compassions NEVER fail. They are new EVERY MORNING; great is your faithfulness.”

Psalm 40:1-3 NIV “I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a ROCK and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a NEW SONG in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God.”

Romans 12:2 NIV “Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the RENEWING of your mind.”

2 Timothy 1:7 NLT “For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of POWER, love, and self-discipline.”

Leave a Reply

