Thirsty?

I am in a rough season in life right now. In the middle of it all, God has been teaching me that He is all I need. That seems pretty basic, right? Well, somehow I’ve been living my life believing that I can provide for everyone, including myself. It has worn me out. I remember one day in particular when I was just begging God to please pull me out of the spiral of negativity and anxiety I had been caught in and to fix the empty feeling, when I heard so clearly, “meditate on His word day and night” (Psalm 1:2).

WHAT?!

It was not the quick fix I was looking for, nor was it anything I thought would help. But I did it anyway. I read my Bible. It was hard to make it part of my routine at first, but I couldn’t shake the words “meditate on His word day and night,” so I continued. Soon I realized how much I had been missing. I began to crave the Word.

Eventually I looked up the Psalm that had been ringing in my head and here is what it has to say in context.

“Blessed is the one who does not walk in step with the wicked or stand in the way that sinners take or sit in the company of mockers, but whose delight is in the law of the Lord, and who meditates on his law day and night. That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither – whatever they do prospers.” (Psalm 1:1-3)

I was amazed at how fitting that piece of Scripture was for me and what I was going through. The most important part being this: The product of a life of soaking up the Word like a tree drinks water, is yielding fruit in season and leaves that do not wither. It is not by chance that those who spend time with God radiate with joy. I want to be one of those people that radiate and that even in rough seasons, yield fruit and do not wither.

For me this means getting up early and spending some time reading my Bible, writing and taking notes, praying for my son at night, and with my husband before bed. Even though I don’t take the time to do this everyday, I notice a difference in my attitude on the days I do, which motivates me to stick with it again the next day.

As parents, we are often exhausted and spend most of our days giving. But there is one who will always give back and who promises to always be the one we can lean on. When you find yourself running on empty, I encourage you to take a few minutes to soak up the Word. Your house may not be magically cleaned, and your kids may not suddenly all have smiles on their faces, but I guarantee you won’t be thirsty anymore.

Leave a Reply

