8 Things I Want to Be as a MOM

I’ve seen so many lists pinned on Pinterest about what moms want their kids to learn and mistakes they don’t want them to repeat, lessons they hope they don’t figure out the hard way, and so on.

Those lists bother me.

 

Believe me, I’ve got a list of my own running through my head of things I hope he doesn’t do or get into, but I feel like being a good parent is probably a lot more about me than it is about my kid. I think those lists of wishes can sometimes become a list of expectations. The last thing I want to do is to set the bar so high that my kids feel like they may never be able to reach the perfection I seem to expect.

 

 

So I decided to come up with my own list of things that are reminders about what I want from ME. I want to be a mom that can…

 

 

  1. Let it Go. I tend to think I have to do it all. Like, I have to make a gourmet meal for guests while making sure the house is *spotless* – but I don’t. I waste a lot of time investing in these things that only give the impression of perfection, while ignoring my child who just wants to play and for right now, I am his favorite friend. Let it go momma.
  2. Be judgment-free. It’s so, so, so easy to sit back and think “I would do that differently” when it comes to other families and the way they raise their kids. But I am not those moms. I don’t deal with the things they deal with under the surface, just like they don’t know what I deal with either. Encourage other moms, reach out to them, offer a listening ear, and do not judge.
  3. Heal the past. I’ve got some burdens and some scars. I’ve got some heavy things weighing on my heart, and I need to get past those things, not by ignoring them, or wishing them away, but by working them out, and truly solving them. Once I am able to do that, I can only be a better example of Christ from there on out.
  4. Love others tremendously. Don’t be afraid of being taken advantage of, or criticized. Love others because you are loved.
  5. Be patient. I get frustrated when my husband takes his time when I’m in a hurry. I get irritated when people pause at green lights and go 10 miles under the limit. It frustrates me because I have got stuff to do! But there is nothing that can’t wait, and nothing so important that it can’t be done later. Nothing. Don’t rush life away.
  6. Make life fun. Life has a way of taking its toll sometimes, but always learn to smile again. Find the humor in the mundane and the routine. Be happy.
  7. Never give up. I take things to heart, especially criticism. Remember that you are a child of the King. You are set apart. You are here for a purpose. Don’t let others opinions of your religion, your dreams, or your decisions stop you from fulfilling your purpose.
  8. Hold tight to the present. Yesterday is gone and tomorrow isn’t here yet. Don’t spend too much time thinking about the past and do not ever fear the future. Life is what you make it right now.

 

3 thoughts on “8 Things I Want to Be as a MOM

Leave a Reply

