Regaining Your Perspective

“I shouldn’t be going anywhere right now!”

I told my husband as I held my straightener in one hand and my toothbrush in the other. My hair was still half wet, my clothes didn’t fit right, the house was a mess, the baby needed a bath, I had skipped breakfast and still hadn’t had lunch. I was already 30 minutes late to meet a friend for what was supposed to be some “me time,” instead I was frustrated and I just wanted to cry.

After some gentle, but firm, encouragement from my husband to stop cleaning the house on my way out the door, I finally made it to the car. I pulled out of the driveway and got onto the highway. “Let it go, just let it go” I kept telling myself, and I eventually felt the stress melting away.

It’s tough to make time for yourself, as many of the demands on our time are all unavoidable parts of being a parent. But learning our limits can help keep us grounded and bring us the balance we need in our lives. No one can work 24 hours a day and be effective after a day or two. Even God took a day of rest.

I needed that day so badly, but I had been caught up in my little bubble of home, responsibility, and obligation that I didn’t realize just how badly. I focused so much time on “things” going on within the four walls of our apartment, that I had almost forgotten there was a world outside the front door. Having a regular interruption to our day-in, day-out routine can help us to take a breather and a step back to realize those “things” we were stressing out about may not really be worth the stress.

Even though it was hard to take the time to stop, I was a better mom for it. When I came home later that afternoon, I couldn’t stop smiling. I had regained my perspective. The house was still a wreck (or at least not to my level of “perfection”) and dinner needed to be made, but it didn’t bother me because all I wanted to do was spend time on the important things – my family.

I encourage you to take an hour or two each week this month to break up your routine. Get out of the house on your own, or simply do something fun or something you have been putting off for awhile. And enjoy it.

SERIOUSLY Good Reads…

Wonderful tips for balancing life and kids by taking time to yourself, finding a mentor and sharing life with friends who can relate. (Long Read)
10 Ways to Avoid Mama Burnout By: Susan Yates, MomLifeToday.com

Learning to put off the less important things and invest more minutes on the important things like opening juice bottles and glue sticks. (Medium Read)
If You Give a Mom a Minute By: Becky Kopitzke, Time Out Devotions for Moms

Get anxious when your towels aren’t folded the right way? It can turn us into control freaks and waste a lot of our time. Let it go. (Short Read)
Just Say No to Control By: Erin Baxter, Mystery32.com

Leave a Reply

